Tulay Central Mosque
Masjid Tulay or Tulay Central Mosque is a mosque in Jolo, Sulu, Philippines. It is considered to be the oldest mosque in Sulu and one of the oldest in the country. It has a unique design and architecture that reflects the Islamic culture and heritage of the Sulu people.
The mosque was built in 1884 by Hadji Butu, a prominent leader and adviser of Sultan Jamalul Kiram II. The mosque was named after the wooden bridge (tulay) that connected it to the mainland. The mosque was constructed using coral stones, lime mortar, and wood. The mosque has a rectangular shape with a flat roof and four minarets. The mosque also has a mihrab (prayer niche) that faces Mecca.
The mosque was destroyed during the war in 1974 and was rebuilt in 2001 with the help of the Philippine government and the United States Agency for International Development (USAID). The mosque was restored to its original design and appearance, with some modern additions such as electric fans and lights. The mosque also has a library that contains Islamic books and manuscripts.
The mosque is one of the tourist spots in Sulu that you can visit and enjoy. It offers a glimpse into the rich history and heritage of the Sulu people. It is also a symbol of hope and change for the people of Sulu, who have suffered from violence and conflict for decades.